Skip to main content

 

Planview Customer Success Center

FAQ: PPM Pro -> LeanKit V2 Integration

Q1. How do I know if the integration is available?

A: From PPM Pro, look for the "Sync with LeanKit" setting - either on project Details, Settings, or Additional Details sections. 

From LeanKit, go to Board Settings and look for the Planview Sync section.

PPM Pro

2021-06-29_14-08-20.png

LeanKit

2021-06-29_14-06-57.png

   Q2. How do I know if a lane is enabled?

A: Look for the "enabled" icon shown below. This icon appears on any enabled lane. Further, you can click on the icon to see what card triggers the creation of PPM Pro project based on the specified project template.

2021-06-29_12-25-32.png

Screen Shot 2021-06-03 at 12.07.31 PM.png

Q3. Why does my assigned resource go away in LK or PPMP?

A: With synced entities, assigned resource emails need to appear in both PPM Pro and LeanKit. If a resource is a user in LK, but is not a resource in PPM Pro, the LeanKit user will be removed whenever that card is next synced.

Q4: Why did my card Title get truncated?

A: LeanKit card titles are limited to 64 characters; PPM Pro entity titles are 80 characters.  If a synced project is created in PPM Pro with a title greater than 64 characters, then the Leankit card that is created will truncated title (64 characters and an ellipsis). Note that the card will immediately sync back to PPM Pro, where the truncated title will update the project title with the truncated version.

Q5: When I create work from LeanKit, how is the project owner determined?

A: The project owner is either the resource who last modified the card (either by creating it in the enabled lane or moving it into the enabled lane), and if that resource's email does not exist in PPM Pro, then the Owner of the project template will be the Owner of the project.

Q6: My LeanKit fields are not updating.

A: Check that your LeanKit default board still exists. If this board is deleted, the integration will be interrupted and PPM Pro will no longer be updated. If you are suspicious the board is deleted, check and see if Sync with LeanKit is still enabled - it becomes disabled if the default board is deleted.

Q7: All my LK fields disappeared.

A: Ask your admin to check that the integration has not been disabled.

Q8: I have a custom field and it has no value (it did previously)?

A: If you move a card from one board to another, custom field data does not transfer with it (and won't be synced because effectively it is a different field).

Q9: have an ongoing maintenance project (no real end date), and I really only want to work with the cards linked to the project, but not the project itself. For example, we have a sustaining board that we use to process defects and enhancements.

A: We put the project itself in a "Placeholder" or "Ongoing" lane and just deal with the child cards.

Q10. I deleted a card from my LeanKit board, but it keeps reappearing.

If you delete a card type that is synced to a task category, the card will be recreated (the next time the task is synced). Workaround is to contact PM and ask them to delete the task from PPM Pro.

Q11. I have an existing project that I created before the LK V2 integration existed. How do I integrate it?

If you have existing projects that you want to use with LeanKit, simply change the project's category to use one configured for the integration. Add the Sync with LeanKit field to the project's Details, enable it and click Save