Skip to main content

 

Planview Customer Success Center

Reports and Permissions/Viewing Rights

Permission to view data from entities using the new permissions model (projects, tasks, issues, portfolios, reports, dashboards assets) is applied at the row level in report. For example, users can run any report source, but reports return only data the user has permission to see. For projects and portfolios, a good rule of thumb is what you see in the UI is what you will see in your reports. Other entities still adhere to the legacy group-based model. The following is a list of groups and entity teams that impact permissions:

  • Organization group membership is required to see/run report sources for all entities outside of the profile-based permissions model (Time, Resource, Division, Enterprise, Department, Request)

  • Division (was Business Unit) Owners/team members: Can report at the Division level

  • Enterprise (was Account) Owners/team members: Can report at the Enterprise level

  • Department (was Program) Owners/team members: Can report at the Department level

  • Project Owners/team members: Full/team users can report at any level and will see only data they have View permissions on

  • Users with "View Rollups" rights can report on "to date info", but will only see what you have permissions to see (must be member of Internal Cost Visibility group to see resource costs, estimated role costs, estimated and actual costs).

Sharing Reports with Others (Viewing)

The Visibility tab of the report wizard is where you can share reports with other users in your organization. You can add users, groups, and units to this screen, along with the appropriate permission profile. The exact rights any user or group has depends on their associated permission profile. Note the following:

  • Users with Edit Team permissions can grant or remove access to a report. Note that PPM Pro users with administrative privileges (and the report owner) can change report ownership. See Changing Entity Ownership.
  • Any user can be given visibility to a report. However, some reports/sources are only visible to people on certain teams. It is possible to share a report that a user cannot actually view. 

See Sharing Reports, Dashboards, and Filters (Visibility) for information about granting permissions to reports.

To share reports with users who do not have permission, see About Dashboards.