Skip to main content
Planview Customer Success Center

Dashboards Overview (Beta)

[under construction]

Dashboards allow you to display results from existing reports, charts, and filters that you created on the Reports tab (or the Reports tab of a specific entity). A dashboard can include multiple output types from a single report, or the results of multiple reports.

Dashboards are a way of sharing data with users who might not otherwise have permission to view the data. Dashboards are always "run as" the current user - which means that all users viewing the dashboard could see different results, depending on their permission to view certain types of data. For example, if the dashboard is owned by User A and shared with User B, User B view the dashboard under her own permissions. This prevents users from seeing more data than permitted to see. If a user wants to share a dashboard under their permissions and show the data they are permitted to see, they will "publish" the dashboard and give access to that dashboard to others. A published dashboard is a snapshot of a dashboard whose content is reflects the permissions of the dashboard owner. Dashboards can be updated according to a schedule (publishing dashboards not yet supported).

Interactive filtering and setting scope across all reports

double-click/first action for a dashboard to be Run with current data, such that viewing the dashboard as published would be a separate non-double-click option. 

Ability to rerun a viewed/published dashboard's data is a must have, consistent with viewed/published Legacy dashboard Actions menu options; rerunning it as the dashboard owner or as the current user, similar to legacy, is a must have.

Differentiate whether or not the user is viewing a published dashboard or not by the displayed footer info. If viewing the published version, displayed footer should be “Published as: <person>” and “Published at: <publish date and time>”. If just viewing a run version (for example, the user selected “Run” or selected one of the “Rerun” options in a published dashboard), the displayed footer should be “Run as: <person>” and “Run at: <run date and time>”.

Access previously published dashboards

Easily be able to configure display options, for the Dashboard itself (container, heading, subheading),

SUPER easy to use and fast way to create dashboards, for example simple drag and drop reports.

Easy way to reorder and resize reports within a dashboard, with mouse/cursor. Ideally non-keyboard way to reorder and resize as well, 

  • Easily and quickly find reports for the dashboard, for example, with search/filtering.
  • Easily remove content from the dashboard.

Configure:

  • whether or not scope and filter controls are shown on view, ideally also where they appear with respect to dashboard content (e.g., after the company logo Rich Text/Image)
  • an image or images to be inserted in the dashboard, for example, as a company logo, as explanatory text, etc., at the top, bottom, or between reports...

Good to know:

  • Dashboards are cached for two hours. If you run a dashboard and view it within two hours of its run time, the dashboard will display the cached data. If you run a dashboard and view it more than two hours after it was run, the dashboard will be re-run. You can re-run a dashboard manually at any time.
  • If the dashboard owner is a terminated resource, the dashboard will not return any results. A PPM Pro administrator can change the dashboard owner by navigating to the resource's Owned Entities page and using the Reassign Ownership feature.
  • If viewing a Gantt chart in a dashboard, remember that the chart is interactive. As such, settings - such as Color By field and legend, date range, selected columns -  are part of the report definition but can be modified interactively (on the report output or on a component in a dashboard) on a per-user basis. The interactive settings are "sticky" until the report definition is edited again. At this point all per-user interactive settings are cleared and the values from the report definition are in affect. Should the user want to revert back to the original layout as defined in the report definition, they can clear local settings or manually reset the fields.

Dashboard Permissions 

Edit section

There are two avenues for granting dashboard rights: permissions profiles and standard group memberships.

Some things to remember:

  • Any user can be given access to a dashboard. However, each user's report permissions determine which reports the user can access, so it is possible to share a dashboard where the user cannot see the report contained in the dashboard.

  • Team users cannot see the top-level dashboards section (even if "given permissions"), but can view entity-level dashboards as long as they have the appropriate permissions.

  • A user will see only his or her own dashboards in the Dashboard List, even if other dashboards have been shared to the user. Having permissions on a dashboard gives a user permission to link to a dashboard created by a different user. Once linked, that dashboard will appear in both users' Dashboard Lists.

See Sharing Reports, Dashboards, and Filters (Visibility) for more information.