Skip to main content
Planview Customer Success Center

Report Teams and Permissions (Beta)

Permission to view report data that is drawn from SSA-enabled entities (requests, projects, tasks, issues, portfolios, reports, dashboards, assets) is applied at the row level. This means that while a user might have permission to view a report, the report will only return data that the user has permission to see. When reporting or projects and portfolios, a good rule of thumb is: what you see in the UI is what you will see in your reports. If your organization has confidential projects that you can't view in the UI, then you won't see them returned in report results. Or, if you don't have permission to view financial information, that information will not be displayed in your report output.

Note for beta reports: can't get rid of project-level section

Report Owner Permissions

Report owners have implicit permissions - not driven by permission profiles - to view and edit any report they own. This means that you might retract a user's global report View rights, but that user will still be able to access her own reports. You can change report ownership (see below). You can use an owner profile to grant additional permissions to report owners.

Non-SSA-Enabled Entities

Non-SSA-enabled entities (such as Divisions, Departments, Resources) still adhere to the legacy group-based model. The following is the list of standard groups that impact permissions for those entities:

  • Organization group membership is required to see/run reports for all entities outside of the profile-based permissions model (Timesheets, Resource, Division, Enterprise, Department)
  • Division Owners/team members: Can report at the Division level (was Business Unit)
  • Enterprise Owners/team members: Can report at the Enterprise level (was Account)
  • Department Owners/team members: Can report at the Department level  (was Program)
  • Users with "View Rollup" project rights can report on "to date info", but will only see what they have permissions to see (must be member of Internal Cost Visibility group to see resource costs, estimated role costs, estimated and actual costs).

Finally, project Owners/team members: Full/team users can report at any level and will see only data they have View permissions on

To share reports with users who do not have permission, see About Dashboards. [update the Dashboards topic for r2d2]

Report Teams

Users are given permission to access/create PPM Pro reports using the profile-based permissions model. Users must have at have View permission on all reports (global permission) or on at least one specific report (team permission) in order to see the Reports top-level nav icon as well as the reports their permissions entail them to see.

Giving a user permission to specific reports is accomplished by putting the user on the team of the report(s) along with a permission profile that defines the exact permissions the user has on the report. Note that the profile must be created prior to putting the user on the team. See Creating Permission Profiles for information about creating profiles. 

You can manage team members from the report designer Team tab. You can also use the Bulk Add/Remove feature to make bulk changes to team membership. In addition to add/removing members, you can also bulk update permission profiles for existing team members. Finally, you can change report ownership.

Add Users to a Report Team

  1. From the Reports tab, select the report and choose Actions > Edit. The report designer opens.
  2. Click the Team tab.
  3. Click Add.

The Add New Team Member modal will appear. 

add_user.png

  1. Select the user(s) to add to the team. Use Shift-click to multi-select.

Note: You can use the radio buttons at the top of the modal to filter members by groups or by units. For example:

add_group.png add_unit.png

  1. Select the permission profile.

select_profile.png

If you are adding a multiple users, then each user will get the same permissions. If you want each user to have a different permission, you have to add them one at a time. Alternatively, you can configure the permissions on the entity's Team page after you dismiss this dialog.

  1. Click Select.

Bulk Add Team Members to Multiple Reports

Similar to what was described above, you can also add team members to a large number of reports, as well as update profiles for existing team members. 

  1. From the Reports tab, select all the reports to add team members to.
  2. Choose Actions > Bulk Add Team Members.
  3. In the Bulk Add Team Member dialog, select the users/groups/units and select a permission profile.

2019-11-05_17-26-16.png

  1. Click Select.

Update Profiles for Report Team Members

You can change team member profiles after they have been added to the report team. You can also bulk update profiles using Bulk Add Team Members (described above).

  1. From the Reports tab, select the report and choose Actions > Edit. The report designer opens.
  2. Click the Team tab.
  3. Adjust the permission profile by clicking in the Profile column and selecting a different permissions profile for each team member, group or unit whose privileges you wish to modify.

change_profile.png

Delete a Report Team Member

  1. From the Reports tab, select the report and choose Actions > Edit.
  2. Click the Team tab.
  3. Highlight a task team member, group, or unit and click the Remove button or right-click and select Delete from the context menu.

Bulk Remove Team Members from Multiple Reports

Similar to what was described above, you can also remove team members from a large number of reports. 

  1. From the Reports tab, multi-select all the reports from which to remove team members.
  2. Choose Actions > Bulk Remove Team Members.
  3. In the Remove Team Member dialog, select the users to remove and click Select.

2019-11-05_17-33-06.png

Change Report Ownership

Users with administrative permissions can change the owner of a report. This is useful if the owner leaves the company, or moves to a different role. Remember that report owners have implicit permission to view/edit reports they own. So, for example, if you wish to remove report right entirely from a resource, you'll need to make sure they do not own any reports, and as a result can still access them.

  1. From the Reports list page, select the reports whose owners you want to change and choose Actions > Bulk Change Owner.
  2. In the Change Entity Owner dialog, select a new owner and click Save.

2019-11-05_17-36-21.png