Skip to main content
Planview Customer Success Center

Publishing dashboards

This video demonstrates how to publish a dashboard. Duration: 5 min.

 

 

Note: To publish dashboards you must be a full user who is a member of the Publishing standard group.

Full or team users who have administrative permissions can unpublish dashboards from the Publishing page. Note that these admins cannot see/edit publish options, but can unpublish only.

The user who published the dashboard can unpublish it from the Dashboard list.

When you publish a dashboard you can configure it to require authentication - either by requiring an access code or requiring the user to be currently logged in to PPM Pro - set an expiration date for the URL, and set up a publishing schedule with optional alerts.

You can configure a publishing schedule for any dashboard. The schedule determines how often to rerun and republish the dashboard automatically, helping dashboard owners streamline their end of day, week, or month reporting. Remember that dashboards are a snapshot of data in time. If a dashboard is set to be published weekly, say, on Sunday at 7am, the data you're looking at on the following Wednesday was last updated then. To see current data, rerun the selected dashboard (provided you're a user with visibility rights to the dashboard).

Dashboard owners and users with administrative privileges can delete dashboards - they will be informed by informational message that the system will first unpublish the dashboard and then delete it.

Please note the following:

  • Dashboards must be run before they can be published.

  • Any drilldowns on reports that are included in published dashboards will be visible to all users, and active for users who are logged in. If not logged in, the user will be prompted to do so upon clicking a drilldown link. (Note: drilldown links available only to full, team, and support users.)

  • The URL for the published dashboard remains the same - you do not have to redistribute the URL after each update.

  • You must set an expiration date to one year or less from the current date.

  • Dashboards can only be scheduled to run outside of normal business hours (5pm - 7:30am in the current user's timezone).

  • A dashboard might not run at the exact time specified. The specified time defines the earliest start time. Dashboards are queued, and those configured to run around that time will get picked up, depending number of jobs ahead in the queue. A dashboard will never be run before the specified time.

  • If you use an Access code, it can be any combination of up to 20 characters

  • Use the Copy URL button or right-click menu option to copy the published dashboard URL without opening the dashboard.

Viewing dashboard schedules

You can view the dashboards schedule for your organization at Admin/Scheduled Jobs. This page displays a list of all dashboards with a publishing schedule, showing the title, the last run date, the next run date, the expiration date, and who scheduled the dashboard.

Configuring Authentication

By default, no authentication is required to view a published dashboard - users can just click the URL.

You can require authentication by way of two options:

a)      Require users to be logged into PPM Pro to view the dashboard

b)      Require users to specify an access code to view the dashboard. The access code can be any combination of up to 20 characters.

Each of these options is configured by selecting the appropriate radio button. If you choose to require an access code, enter the code in the field that becomes editable after you select the access code option:

dashboard_authentication.png

Configuring email alerts when dashboards are published (or republished)

After you configure the publishing schedule, you can optionally add up to 5 email addresses. The recipients will receive an email notification each time the dashboard is automatically republished (alerts are not sent if the dashboard is manually republished). The sender should always be alert_innotas@innotas.com. You can whitelist this sender or the innotas.com domain.

publish_alerts.png

To publish a dashboard

View the dashboard you want to publish by selecting it in the Dashboard List and clicking Actions > View.

  1. In the Dashboard viewer, choose >Actions > Publish.
  2. (Optional) Authentication - the default is "Do not require any authentication." If you want to provide dashboard security, you can

a)      Require users to be logged into PPM Pro to view the dashboard

b)      Require users to specify an access code to view the dashboard.

  1. Require users to specify an PPM Pro login.
  2. Set the date you want the URL to expire in the Expires on field. The date must be within one year of the current date.
  3. (Optional) To configure the dashboard to republish on a regular schedule, click the Republish check box and configure a schedule for repeated publishing:

schedule.png

  1. Click Save.

To unpublish a dashboard

Note: Can be done only by user who published the dashboard. Admins can unpublish from Admin/Publishing.

  1. Navigate to the Dashboard List page.
  2. Select the dashboard you wish to unpublish and choose Actions > Unpublish.
  3. Click OK to dismiss the confirmation dialog.

Note: Users with administrative privileges can view a list of all published dashboards under Admin/Publishing. Any dashboard can be unpublished from that screen.

Resetting the access code or expiration date

Note: Can be done only by the user who published the dashboard.

  1. Navigate to the Dashboard List page.
  2. Select the dashboard you wish to modify and click the Published published_icon.png icon .
  3. In the Publish Options dialog that appears, enter a new access code and/or expiration date.
  4. Click Save.