Skip to main content
Planview Customer Success Center

Creating and Managing Workspaces

A workspace is the place where you can communicate, collaborate, plan your project or work to be done, and follow up on progress. You can create an empty workspace, or choose to base it on a template

Create a Workspace

To create a new workspace:

  1. Click My overview in the top navigation bar. 
  2. Click the Add workspace button in My workspaces section.
  3. Next, decide to Create a new, empty workspace or Create a workspace from a template.

To create a new, empty workspace:

Create a new Workspace Image 2b.png

  1. Click Create a new, empty workspace.

A new window appears:

Create a new Workspace image 3a.png

  1. Select the type of planning tool you want to use in the workspace, Plan or Roadmap.
  2. Complete the relevant details in the provided fields: 
    1. Type the Workspace name.
    2. Type the Cost code (if any).
    3. Use the pull-down menu to select a Department.
  3. Click Create a new, empty workspace.

To create a workspace from a template:

Create a Workspace from a Template Image 1a.png

  1. Search from one of the available templates by typing the name of template in the search field.
  2. You may choose from one of the four categories when selecting a template:
    1. Personal templates
    2. Account templates
    3. Projectplace or Global templates
    4. Partner templates

Create a Workspace from a Template Image 3a.png

  1. Complete the relevant details in the provided fields: 
    1. Type the Workspace name.
    2. Select a Project start date.
    3. Type the Cost code (if any).
    4. Use the pull-down menu to select a Department.
  2. Click Create.

Global templates are made available to both Projectplace and Projectplace Trial users who are U.S. customers from the U.S. datacenter.

If you need help getting started, learn the Projectplace basics or how to setup a new workspace.

Archive a Workspace

You can remove a workspace from the workspace list and save the workspace content and history by archiving completed workspaces. The workspace and all information within it is still accessible in the archive. You must be a workspace administrator to archive a workspace.

To archive a workspace:

  1. Navigate to the Administration tool in the workspace.
  2. Click About the workspace.
  3. Click Archive workspace.

  1. If you don’t want the contents to be locked for editing, uncheck the Lock contents and preserve current history box .
  2. Click Confirm to archive the workspace.

To find archived workspaces:

  1. Click My overview in the top navigation bar. 
  2. In the list of workspaces, you will find the archived workspaces in the Hidden and archived workspaces section.

To reactive a workspace, open it and navigate to the Administration tool. Then click About the workspace and click Open workspace.

Delete a Workspace

If you delete a workspace, all contents are deleted and those contents cannot be recreated. You must be the workspace head administrator to delete the workspace. Before deleting a workspace you can save contents locally.

Add a post in Conversations to notify all members that the workspace is being deleted. This notification allows members the opportunity to save any relevant information before the workspace is deleted.

To delete a workspace:

  1. Navigate to the Administration tool in the workspace.
  2. Click About the workspace.
  3. Click the Terminate workspace button.
  4. Confirm that you have read the terms of use and click Confirm to delete the workspace.

The workspace and all of its contents are deleted and cannot be recreated.

Hide a Workspace

You can hide a workspace that is of lower priority. Hidden workspaces will not show up directly in the workspace selector or the workspaces section in My overview

You need at least two workspaces to use this feature.

To hide a workspace:

Hide a Workspace Image 1.png

  1. Click My Overview in the top navigation bar.
  2. Locate the Workspace selector in the toolbar, or the My workspaces section of your overview, hover over the workspace you want to hide.
  3. Click Hide.

To show a previously hidden workspace:

  1. Click My Overview in the top navigation bar.
  2. From the Workspace selector in the toolbar, or the My workspaces section of your overview, expand the Hidden and archived workspaces section.
  3. Hover over the workspace you want to unhide.
  4. Click Unhide.

 


  • Was this article helpful?
Leave feedback