Skip to main content
Planview Customer Success Center

Manage Users in the Account

Account administrators have the capability to manage users in the Projectplace account. Account administrators can:

  • see how many total users are in the account
  • view how many users the account pays for
  • lists those users that are active 
  • decide and set which users can start new workspaces
  • change the department a user belongs to
  • add new users to the account.

Video: Manage users in the enterprise account

View Account Members

Select Acct Admin from the Tool Selector Image.png

  1. Click the tool selector Tool selector.png in the top navigation bar.
  2. Select Account administration.
  3. Click the People tab to see a list of account users.

    People Tab.png

Customize the View

To customize the view from the People tab:

Customize the view.png

  1. Click the Settings icon Settings Icon.png from the right side of the tool bar.
  2. Select Customize view.

    Customize the view 2.png

  3. Click and hold the move icon Move icon.png to drag or move the column titles to rearrange the order of the available list.
  4. Click on the activated checkbox to uncheck those columns you want to hide from the view.
  5. Click Save.

Filter the View

To filter your view of the People tab:

  1. Click the Filter iconFilter Icon.png to open the filter pane on the left side of the window.
  2. Select the filter criteria for the following filter attributes to filter your list:
    1. Name: Search for a specific person in the account.
    2. Last logged in: Look for account members who logged in within a specified date range.
    3. Access: Filter members who have access to create workspaces or the Workload tool.
    4. Department: Filter by department name.
    5. Account role:  Filter by Account role.
    6. Workspace role: Filter by Workspace role.
    7. Workspace membership: Filter members who are members a of workspace and/or those that are not.

      Filter your list.png

Add Account Members

To add account members to the account:

  1. Click the Add members button on the top left corner of the window.

    Add Account Members 1.png

  2. A new window appears.
    1. If you are adding external members, type the email address of each user you want to add and separate each with a comma.
    2. To add existing members, not yet a member of the account, select the user's name from the available list. Note: the members you add, must not be part of another account.
  3. An invitation email is sent to the new user(s) requesting each new user to register, creating a new user account. You can select the language for the invitation email from the available list. Languages include: Dansk, Nederlands, English, Fraçais, Deutsch, Norsk, Svenska, and Español.
  4. Click the Add Members button to send the email invitation.

    Add Account Members 3.png

Adding Account Administrators

An Account Owner can set an account member as an Account Administrator from the details pane.

To change an Account Owner, submit a ticket to Projectplace Support with the written permission from the current Account Owner to request to make a system role change. A Projectplace Customer Care Consultant will perform the requested change(s).

View and Edit Account Member Details

To view and edit an Account Member's details:

Edit Account Members.png

  1. Click the checkbox next to the member's name. A detail pane appears on the right side of the window.
  2. You can view (and possibly edit) the member's:
    1. Profile: Title, Department, and Email address
    2. Content: The number of Workspace, Portfolios, and Teams the member is part of.
    3. Account Access: Provides the ability for creating Workspaces and accessing Workload by department.
    4. Department: Edit the department the member belongs to (not included in above image).
  3. You can communicate with a member by sending an email or sending a private message.

Remove and Delete Account Members

To remove or delete account members:

  1. Click the More menu icon More or Options Menu Icon.png to Remove or Delete account members. Removing an account member allows the member to continue as an active Projectplace user without having access to the customer account. When an account member is deleted, the user account will be permanently deleted from Projectplace.

    An email notification is sent to the user when their account has been deleted. External and internal users that are members of other accounts, or any users that own workspaces can only be removed from the account, not deleted.

    Remove or Delete 2.png

  2. If you try to remove an account member who is a Workspace owner, Template owner or a Team owner, you must first transfer ownership to another account member before removing or deleting that account member.
  3. Click Remove.

Account Settings for Users

Password and Security Settings

To set password and security settings:

Password and Security 1.png

  1. Click the Settings icon Settings Icon.png from the right side of the tool bar.
  2. Select Password and security. A new window appears. You can set the following settings:

    Password and Security 2.png

    1. Password strength and complexity applicable to all of the account users.
    2. Password expiration period requires users to change their password after the expiration date.
    3. Enable Two-step verification for increased security for both account members and external members.
    4. Prevent Third-party software data access from reading or editing data in workspaces connected to the account.
  3. Click Save.

Add or Remove Departments

To add or remove departments from the account:

Department settings 1.png

  1. Click the Settings icon Settings Icon.png from the right side of the tool bar.
  2. Select Department. A new window appears. Account Administrators can set the following settings:

    Department Settings 3.png

  3. Click the Add department icon Add department icon.png to add departments to the account.
  4. Hover the cursor over the department you want to delete. Click the remove icon Delete department icon 2.png, on the right.

    When a department is deleted, all members belonging to the deleted department will no longer have a department assignment.

  5. Click the checkbox to request those account members who have not assigned a department to select a department during the login process.
  6. Click Save to save your changes.

You can export all the account members details from the Export option from the Settings icon Settings Icon.png.

 

 

 

 


  • Was this article helpful?
Leave feedback