Skip to main content
Planview Customer Success Center

Create A New Board Or Duplicate Existing

To create a new board in LeanKit, click the New Board dropdown at the top of the home screen and then click either Default Template or Other Template.

Note: you must be an Account Administrator or a Board Creator to see the New Board option. Only Account Administrators will see the Duplicate option.

default template.png

Create a New Board Using the Default Template

Choosing to create a new board using the default template opens the Create New Board dialog where you can add a Title and Description for your board. 

new board from default template.png

Here you can also set the level of access non-account administrator users in this account will have to this board unless they are granted different access user-by-user:

You can learn more about different levels of board access rights here.

When finished, click Save to create this Board.

Creating a board from one of the Other Templates 

Choosing Other Template will take you to the Template Library. It’s organized in groups of similar templates. You can choose one from our ever-expanding Template Library, or any saved Template from your own account.

other template.png

Right click on the template thumbnail and click Preview for a preview of the template you’d like to select.

preview board.png

Click on the thumbnail image of the template you want to use for your new board. This opens the Create New Board dialog where you can add a Title and Description for your board. 

New board from template.png

​​​​​Some templates include cards, and you can check the box next to Include cards from template when creating board to include these cards when the board is created.

You can also set the level of access non-account administrator users in this account will have to this board unless they are granted different access user-by-user:

You can learn more about different levels of board access rights here.

Duplicate an Existing Board 

In LeanKit's higher editions, Account Administrators can duplicate existing boards.

To duplicate an existing board, navigate to the home screen and right-click on a board’s image. Select Duplicate from the drop-down menu.

duplicate board.png

This will bring you to a window similar to what you would see if you were creating a new board.  The only difference is that this window will display a Copy Users checkbox that allows you to copy users from the old board to the new one. This will ensure that the users of the first Board, their roles, and assigned WIP limits will be added to the second Board. 

duplicated board.png

You can save that board as a template or export that board as a template to open it in a separate account.


save as template.png 

export as template.png