Skip to main content
Planview Customer Success Center

Understand Blocked Work

In LeanKit, you can block cards to show that a work item cannot currently proceed. Blocking a card is as simple as clicking on the card to open the card’s details and clicking Unblocked on the right-hand side of the card details. It will display as Blocked in red once clicked.

           

Click to expand or shrink

           

You will then be prompted to give a reason why you are blocking this card. You must provide a reason why the card is being blocked before the card will display as blocked.

Type the reason for the block within the field provided and click Accept when done.

           

Click to expand or shrink

           

Your card will then display as blocked, with the Blocked button displayed in red in the card details and a small X within a circle displayed on the card face.

           

Click to expand or shrink

           

View the Reason a Card is Blocked

To view why a card is blocked, you can hover over the Blocked button within the card details (which will display as Unblocked when you hover or click the button).

           

Click to expand or shrink

           

You can also hover over the blocked icon on the face of the card to see the reason the card is blocked.

           

Click to expand or shrink

           

Alternatively, you can click on the card to open the card details, then click on the History tab. From there you will be able to see the card’s history, including any current or prior blocks that were placed on the card. 

           

Click to expand or shrink