Skip to main content
Planview Customer Success Center

Delete a Card

Perhaps you created a card in error and need to remove it completely from your LeanKit account. There are two ways to permanently delete a card from your board: via the context menu or from within the card details. 

Delete a Card via the Context Menu

To delete a card via the context menu, right-click on the card and select Delete from the menu that appears. 

delete a card via context menu.png

You will be asked to confirm the deletion. Click Yes to permanently delete this card from your board.

delete a card via context menu 2.png

This will remove this card and all history associated with it. You cannot recover a card after deleting it. 

Delete a Card from within the Card Details

Click on the face of the card that you would like to delete to open the card details and click the three-dot button to reveal more menu options. Select Delete from the dropdown. 

delete a card from within details.png

You will be asked to confirm deletion. 

delete a card from within details 2.png

Click Yes to permanently delete this card from your board. 

This will remove this card and all history associated with it. You cannot recover a card after deleting it. 

Allow or Disallow Users to Delete Cards 

There is a board level setting to turn the option to delete cards “on” or “off.” This helps prevent the loss of work history and ensures accurate activity reporting on all the cards being pulled through your process. 

By default, "Allow users to delete cards" is set to "no." But you can change this at any time in the Board Settings, as shown below. 

allow users to delete cards.png