Managing workspaces
After a workspace has been created, Planview Admin administrators and named workspace administrators can manage it in Planview.Me, or in Planview Admin, in the following ways:
- change the workspace details, including the name, description and type
- add or remove capabilities and capability items
- disable capabilities (which disables the capability items)
- delete the workspace
- add users and groups as workspace members (see Managing workspace membership)
TIP
A workspace can contain multiple boards, but a board can be in only one workspace at a time. Use the global search on the top navigation to search for the board name and see if its already been associated to a workspace.
Managing workspace details
To change the workspace name, description, or type
- In the workspace view, click More options (vertical dots) > Manage workspace (settings icon).
- In the Details tab, make the desired changes.
In Planview Admin, click the workspace in the workspaces list on the Workspaces tab of the Planview.Me Workspaces settings and make the changes in the details panel.
Managing workspace capabilities and capability items
- In the workspace view, click More options (vertical dots) > Manage workspace (settings icon).
- In Planview Admin, click the workspace in the workspaces list and then click the Capabilities tab in the details panel. The steps below are the same.
- Click the Capabilities tab.
To add an existing capability item
- Click + Add, select the capability and then Import existing.
- Search for and select the items you want to add and then click Import selected.
- Click + Add, select the capability and then Add new.
- Complete the fields in the Create dialog and then click Create.
- The capability item is added and enabled by default. If it is the first capability item to be added, the related capability is also added and enabled by default.
- To finish creating the item, click Go to workspace.
- Click the capability tab and then select the capability item.
Supported Capabilities:
| Option | Behavior in a workspace |
|---|---|
| Overview | Widget-based views (standalone or scoped to the workspace). Support for workspace-aware widgets (OKR Progress, Roadmaps, Planning Series Progress, Work status, Board Sentiment) available. Links to associted items in Planview.Me open in the workspace. |
| Board | AgilePlace boards you create or add to the workspace. A board can be in only one workspace. Keeps associated existing boards in sync with the standalone experience. |
| OKRs | Shows OKRs from boards in the workspace. Creating and managing OKRs associated to the board can be done from this tab. |
| Roadmap | Roadmaps you create or add to the workspace. Links to AgilePlace cards open in the workspace if the board is associated. |
| Whiteboard | Collaborative canvases for the workspace’s members. No migration of existing board whiteboards supported. |
| Connection Graph | Visualizes how the workspace’s items connect to each other and to related work. |
TIP
When you add an existing board to a workspace, the OKRs associated with the board are automatically added to the OKRs tab. You can disable the capability if not applicable.
To show/hide a capability
In the capabilities list, click the Enabled switch to enable/disable it. Disabling a capability hides all of its items but does not disassociate them.
To show/hide a capability item
In the capabilities list, click the Enabled switch to enable/disable it. A hidden item does not appear when the workspace is viewed in Planview.Me.
To rename a capability item
In the capabilities list, select the display name of the item and edit.
To rearrange the capabilities and capability items
Point to the grab-dots icon to the left of the capability or capability item and when the cursor changes to an open hand, click and drag the item to the desired position.
When you are finished adding items, do one of the following to view the workspace
-
Click Go to workspace.
-
To view another workspace or item, select it from the left navigation bar.
Deleting a workspace
To delete a workspace
- Do one of the following:
- On the workspace row in the workspaces list on either Planview.Me or Planview Admin, click the vertical dots icon > Delete workspace.
- In the workspace select the vertical dots icon > Delete workspace.

