Configuring workspaces
Configuring workspaces
Use Planview Admin to prepare your environment for workspaces: add the product environments, add users, enable Workspaces, manage workspace types and create workspace views. These tasks are for administrators only.
Pre-Requisites
Adding the Planview product environments to Planview Admin
You must add Planview.Me, and the Planview platform products whose items are displayed in workspaces as capabilities must be enabled on Planview Admin. For more information, see Managing Products.
Adding users and groups in Planview Admin
- In Planview Admin, click the Settings tab.
- On the Services tab, click the settings button for Planview.Me.
- Add users to Planview.Me:
- Click the Users tab.
- Select the checkboxes for users that require access to Planview.Me.
- In the Actions menu, click Manage Product Environments.
- In the Manage Product Environments dialog, select the checkbox on the Planview.Me tile and then click Save.
Users see workspace navigation only when they are members of at least one workspace. To add members, see Managing workspace membership.
Enabling Workspaces
The Planview.Me tile has settings for Overviews and Workspaces. The Workspaces setting has an enable/disable toggle that controls whether the workspace experience is available in your environment. For the steps, see Enabling Workspaces.
Creating and managing workspaces
After you configure the environment, create workspaces and add capabilities and members:
- Creating a workspace
- Managing workspaces
- Managing workspace membership
To plan the structure first, see Designing your workspace structure.
Managing workspace types in Planview Admin
Workspace types provide a way of classifying and grouping similar workspaces. There are standard workspace types provided with Planview.Me. You can create and delete workspace types and specify one to appear by default when creating a new workspace.
To create a workspace type in Planview Admin
- Access Planview Admin.
- Click the Settings tab.
- On the Planview.Me tile, open the Workspaces settings.
- Click the Workspace types tab.
- Click +Create workspace type.
- Complete the fields in the Create workspace type dialog, and then click Save. The workspace type appears at the bottom of the workspaces list.
To delete a workspace type
If the workspace type has been assigned to one or more workspaces, you must select a replacement type for it.
- If the workspace type is the default type, specify another workspace as the default type.
- On the workspace type row in the workspace types list, click the vertical dots icon > Delete workspace type.
- In the Delete workspace type dialog, select the replacement workspace type and then click Delete.
To specify a default workspace type
Do one of the following:
- Select the Default option for the type in the workspace types list.
- Click the workspace type in the list and then enable the Default option in the details panel.
Managing workspace views in Planview Admin
NOTE
Workspace administrators can manage workspace-aware views specific to their workspace in the overviews capability of their workspace(s).
You create a shared workspace view the same way as Planview.Me and Portfolios overview views. The difference for workspace views is that when you add a widget that displays capabilities data, the options available for data sources include the following:
- Current workspace only
- Current workspace and child workspaces
When either of these options is selected, widget data in a workspace view is automatically filtered to display only the data for the capabilities in the workspace that the view is added to, or the workspace and its child workspaces. That is, the widgets in a workspace view added to Workspace A display only the data for the Workspace A capabilities. The same workspace view added to Workspace B displays only the data for the Workspace B capabilities.
To create a shared workspace view
- In Planview Admin, click Settings and then click the Services tab.
- Click the Settings button for the Planview.Me environment that you want to add the view to. The list of Planview.Me views appears.
- Click the Planview.Me Workspace tab.
- Click Create view.
- In the Create view dialog, do the following:
- Enter a name for the view.
- Enter a description for the view, and then click Save and Continue. The designer mode appears.
To add and configure a widget
- Drag a widget from the widget library to the view.
- To configure the widget, do one of the following:
- Click the Configure button on the widget.
- Click the vertical ellipsis > Settings.
- Configure each widget's data source:
- Current workspace only
- Current workspace and child workspaces
- Selected sources
Sharing the view
- Share the view with the users (everyone, by user, role, or group).
- Associate the view to one or more workspaces. This can be done either from Planview Admin, or directly from within a workspace via Manage Workspace (the three-dot menu on the workspace banner).

