Setting up Planview.Me (administrators)
Set up Planview.Me in Planview Admin: add the environment, assign users, create views, enable workspaces, and configure Anvi, Insights, personal views and Portfolios overview views.
Requirements
To set up Planview.Me, you require the following:
-
The Planview platform products whose data is displayed in the widgets or in the workspace must be enabled on Planview Admin.
-
For a list of the widget product dependencies, see Planview.Me widget library.
-
- Administrator access to Planview Admin.
- Administrator access to Planview Portfolios if using the embedded experience.
To use Planview.Me, users require the following:
- To view data, users require view access permissions to the data in the source products
- To edit data, users require edit access permissions to the data in the source products
Additional requirements for workspaces
To use workspaces, you also require the following:
- Planview.Me added as a product environment in Planview Admin, with the Workspaces setting enabled (see Enabling Workspaces).
- The Planview platform products whose items you want to show as workspace capabilities, for example AgilePlace for boards, enabled in Planview Admin.
- Users assigned to the Planview.Meproduct. Users see workspace navigation only when they are members of at least one workspace.
- Administrator access to Planview Admin to create and manage workspaces and workspace types. Workspace members can also be managed in the app with Manage workspace.
Setting up Planview.Me in Planview Admin
Setting up Planview.Me includes the following steps, all of which must be performed in Planview Admin by a Planview Admin administrator.
- Add the Planview.Me production or sandbox environment to Planview Admin. For more information, see Managing Products.
NOTE
You can add one production environment and one primary sandbox environment for Planview.Me.
- Assign users to the Planview.Me product. For more information, see Adding existing users to a product environment.
- Overviews: Create and activate a Planview.Me view. For more information, see Managing Planview.Me Views.
- Workspaces: Create and activate a Planview.Me workspace structure. For more information, see Managing workspaces.
Enabling Workspaces
Planview.Me has a single product tile in Planview Admin. Its settings let you work with Overviews (widget-based views) and Workspaces separately. The Workspaces setting includes an enable/disable toggle that controls whether the workspace experience is available in your environment.
Workspace access is membership-driven. Whether the Workspaces option appears in a user's left-hand navigation depends on whether the user is a member of at least one workspace. Users who are not members of any workspace do not see workspace navigation and keep the standard Planview.Me experience.
To enable Workspaces:
- In Planview Admin, click Settings and then click the Services tab.
- Click the Settings button for the Planview.Me environment, and open the Workspaces settings.
- Confirm that Workspaces is enabled. To turn the workspace experience off, disable it here.
- Add users to Planview.Me (see the steps above) and make sure the products whose items you want to display as capabilities are enabled.
- Create workspaces and add members (users or administrator role). See Configuring workspaces, Creating a workspace and Managing workspace membership.
NOTE
You can add members of a workspace with an Administrator role to delegate the creation and management of the workspace contents itself.
Disabling Anvi for an organization
The Planview Anvi AI-assistant is enabled on Planview.Me by default. You can disable it for an organization.
To disable Anvi on Planview.Me for an organization:
- In Planview Admin, click Settings and then click the Services tab.
- Click the Settings button for the Planview.Me environment.
- On the Views for Planview.Me page, click Options.
- Clear the Enable Anvi for Planview product-related help check box and then click Save.
Enabling the Insights widget
When enabling the use of the Insights widget, you must also accept the Planview Privacy Policy.
NOTE
You must enable the Insights widget for each of the locations (Planview.Me, Planview Portfolios: My Overview, Portfolios: Work Portfolio, and Portfolios: Work) where you want to make the widget available.
- In Planview Admin, click Settings and then click the Services tab.
- Click the Settings button for the Planview.Me environment.
- On the Planview.Me page, click Options.
- Click the Enable Insights widget and accept the Privacy Policy check box and then click Save.
- Click the corresponding tab and repeat for each of the Planview Portfolios locations where you want to make the Insights widget available:
- Portfolios: My Overview
- Portfolios: Strategy Portfolio
- Portfolios: Strategy
- Portfolios: Work Portfolio
- Portfolios: Work
Preventing users from creating personal Planview.Me views
By default, users can create views in Planview.Me for their own personal use. However, some organizations may prefer to only make shared views available and prevent users from creating personal views.
To prevent users from creating personal Planview.Me views:
- In Planview Admin, click Settings and then click the Services tab.
- Click the Settings button for the Planview.Me environment.
- On the Views for Planview.Me page, click Options.
- Clear the Users can create personal Planview.Me views check box and then click Save.
Setting up Planview Portfolios overview views
Planview Portfolios overview views are Planview.Me views that are displayed in an Overview tab in the following locations. The Planview Portfolios information displayed in the widgets is filtered to be specific to the context of the location, for example:
- My Overview – information is specific to you or includes an option for you to select the information
- Strategy screen – information is specific to the selected strategy
- Strategy Portfolio screen – information is specific to the selected strategy portfolio
- Work portfolio screen – information is specific to the selected work portfolio
- Work entity screen – information is specific to the selected work entity
After you set up Planview Portfolios overview views, an Overview tab appears in the secondary navigation bar in each of the locations. In the My Overview screen there is also a new My Tiles and Reports tab, which contains the previous My Overview screen contents.
To set up Planview Portfolios overview views:
Setting up the Planview Portfolios overview views includes the following steps, all of which must be performed by an administrator.
- Set up Planview.Me in Planview Admin.
- In Planview Admin, create and activate a view for each of the Planview Portfolios overview locations. For more information, see Managing Planview.Me Views.
- To display the Overview tabs in Planview Portfolios, enable the Enable Planview.Me Overviews global option (main menu > Administration > System Configuration > Global Options > Additional functionality).
To hide a Planview Portfolios overview view
The overview views are available in all of the Portfolios locations (mentioned above) by default.
You can hide a view in one or more of the locations by disabling the corresponding options in the menu. For more information, see Enabling or Disabling Menu Actions.

