Skip to main content

 

Planview Customer Success Center

Managing Users

What Can I Do on the Users Tab?

Administrators can use the Users tab of Planview Platform Administration (Platform Admin) to manage PV Admin users, including the following tasks:

           

Graphical user interface, application, websiteDescription automatically generated

Example of the Users tab with an action menu selected

           

           

NOTE

Future Platform Admin releases will add functionality such as adding new users for each available application; for now, continue adding new users directly in the appropriate application environment.

           

           

Users Tab Screen Elements

The following table describes the screen elements and the tasks that administrators can perform on this tab.

Element Description
Search

Click the Search box, then type one or more characters for the item you want to search.

Actions

Unless otherwise noted, the following options in the Actions menu affect the users selected with the check boxes on the left side of the screen:

  • Edit: Allows administrators to modify details one selected user.
  • Make Admin: Makes use a Planview Admin Administrator
  • Remove Admin: Removes Planview Admin Administrator rights
  • Reset Password: Resets the passwords for the selected users.
  • DeleteDeletes the selected users.
  • Export UsersExports all details for all Platform Admin users to a CSV file, including the name, email address, and status for each user; whether they are an administrator; and which applications they have access to. This option exports all users regardless of the check box selections.
Last Name The user's last name.
First Name The user's first name.
Email The user's email address.
Admin Whether the user has administrator privileges in Platform Admin or not.
Products The Planview application environments that the user has access to.
Status A system label that reflects whether PV Admin accounts are complete and usable (Active/Inactive). SSO users are active immediately. Non-SSO users are inactive until they successfully create their PV Admin account.

action menu.png​​​​​

Click the action menu (action menu.png) for an individual user for the following options:

           

           

Adding a User Manually

You can add a user to PV Admin, but you will not be able to map that user until a corresponding tenant user (with matching email address) has been created.

  1. From the Users tab, click the Add User button.
  2. Enter the email address, first and last names. 
  3. "Enable login with password" is disabled by default and should be used only if your organization uses SSO and the user is NOT part of that system (like Planview personnel, for example).
  4. Click Save.

Once you create a corresponding user in the tenant product instance (if one doesn't already exist), the user will be mapped to the PVID user at the next sync (provided the mail addresses match).

           

           

Deleting Users

You can delete a user from PVID; they will no longer appear in the Users tab, and will not be able to access tenant products. Note that you will still need to deactivate users in the tenant product instance to free up licenses and terminate resource(s) so that they will no longer be considered to have capacity.

To delete one user:

  1. Click the Users tab.
  2. For the user you want to delete, perform one of the following steps:
    • Click action menu.png > Delete.
    • Click the check box for the user on the left side. Then click Actions > Delete.
  3. Click Yes to confirm.

To delete multiple users:

  1. Click the Users tab.
  2. Click the check box on the left side for each user you want to delete.
  3. Click Actions > Delete.
  4. Click Yes to confirm.

           

           

Modifying User Details

Administrators can edit the names and email addresses of users in Platform Admin.

To modify a user's details:

  1. Click the Users tab.
  2. For the user you want to modify, perform one of the following steps:
    • Click action menu.png > Edit.
    • Click the check box for the user on the left side. Then click Actions > Edit.
  3. On the Edit User screen, change the Email address, First Name, Last Name, and Enable/disable Password Login as needed.
  4. Click Save.

           

           

Configuring a User to Login with Username & Password

If your organization has SSO configured, Planview ID supports the ability for certain users to login with username and password instead of SSO. The main use case for enabling a user to login with username and password is if your organization routinely interacts with or needs the ability to add users that are external to your organization to Planview products. When the "Enable login with password" setting is enabled for a user that user will receive an account creation email from Planview ID.

           

NOTE

When a user is configured to login with username and password that user must first navigate and login to Planview Admin. Once a session has been established for that user then the user can navigate directly to the specific Planview product URLs (for example, hostname.leankit.com or service.projectplace).

           

           

           

Resetting User Passwords

To reset one user's password:

  1. Click the Users tab.
  2. For the user whose password you want to reset, perform one of the following steps:
    • Click action menu.png > Reset.
    • Click the check box for the user on the left side. Then click Actions > Reset.

The user's password is reset immediately and an email is sent to the user.

To reset multiple users' passwords:

  1. Click the Users tab.
  2. Click the check box on the left side for each user whose password you want to reset.
  3. Click Actions > Reset.

The users' passwords are reset immediately and emails are sent to the users.

           

           

Make and Remove PV Admin User Administrator Rights

You can make additional users PV Admin Administrators:

  1. Click the Users tab.
  2. For the user whose password you want to reset, perform one of the following steps:
    • Click action menu.png > Make Admin or Remove.
    • Click the check box for the user(s) on the left side. Then click Actions > Make Admin or Remove Admin.

           

           

Exporting User Details to a CSV File

You can export a CSV file with details about all users in Platform Admin, including the name, email address, and status for each user; whether they are an administrator; and which applications they have access to. The export automatically includes all users; individually selecting users does not affect the export.

To export a CSV file listing all users in Platform Admin:

  1. Click the Users tab.
  2. Click Actions > Export Users.
  3. Select a location to save the exported file.
  4. Click Save.