Skip to main content
If you are a Planview customer, sign in to enable additional content.
Planview Customer Success Center

Configuring Versions of a Financial Planning Model

Sign in to access this product help article.

You are viewing content for Planview® Enterprise One release 15 – Portfolio and Resource Management and greater.

Editing a Version

Required Features

Administer    Financial Planning

To edit a financial-planning version:

  1. On the appropriate row, click the action menu button and then click Configure Versions.

  2. On the Configure Versions screen, click the action menu and then click Edit Version.

    You can modify the version's information and set edit and load rules as you do when adding a version.

    Note: If you are editing a baseline or forecast version, the Baseline or Forecast check box is grayed out (respectively) because you cannot remove the baseline version or the forecast version. You can mark another version as Baseline or Forecast, but you must always have a baseline version and a forecast version.

Deleting Versions

Note: Data for a version must be deleted before you can delete the entire version.

Deleting One Version of a Financial Plan

To delete one version of a financial plan:

  1. On the row relevant to the financial-planning model for which you are deleting a version, click the action menu and then click Configure Versions.

  2. On the appropriate row, click the action menu and then click Edit Version.

  3. On the First Editable Period list, select a period that is on or before the first period that has data.

  4. Click Save.

  5. On the Configure Versions screen, click the action menu and then click Delete Editable Data. Permanently delete all of the version's editable data by clicking OK.

  6. On the Configure Versions screen, click the action menu and then click Delete Version. Permanently delete the version by clicking OK.

Deleting All Versions

To delete all versions of a financial plan:

  1. Repeat the procedure described in Deleting One Version of a Financial Plan until you have deleted each of the versions not marked as Baseline or Forecast in the relevant financial-planning model.
  2. On the row relevant to the Baseline version or Forecast version, click the action menu and then click Edit Version.
  3. Select the Baseline check box and the Forecast check box.
  4. Click Save.
  5. On the Configure Versions screen, delete the version that is not marked as Baseline and Forecast. One version will remain, and it is marked as both.
  6. On the remaining version, click the action menu and then click Delete Version
  7. Click OK to permanently delete the version. After all the versions are deleted, the system lets you delete the financial-planning model.

Additional Version Configuration Options

Copy Version

You can copy data between different versions within a financial-planning model or between items within the same version.

Load Version

Note: Before loading a version, you should be familiar with the business rules relevant to loading models and versions.

The Load Financial Plan screen lets you select whether to include Actuals, Planned Effort, or both, and the period range from which you want to load data. You can also designate whether the system is to recalculate labor rates prior to the load. When you have completed these fields, click Load Now.

For information about scheduling a Financial Plan Load job by using a job stream, see Managing Job Streams.

Lock Levels for Version

Prerequisites

You are configuring a version for a strategic, work, or outcome.

If you click this option, the levels of the primary structure from the financial plan's minimum depth to maximum depth are displayed. You can then lock specific levels for the version you are configuring. To do so, select the relevant check boxes to designate which levels you want to lock and whether you are locking them from editing, loading, or both of those operations.

Refresh Labor Costs

If you click this option, the Refresh Labor Costs screen appears. You can select a portfolio and a period range to use for the refresh. The refresh re-calculates the labor cost of all editable effort in the financial-planning model, based on the labor cost rates defined.

Recalculate Depreciation

If you click this option, the current financial-planning model and version are displayed on the Recalculate Depreciation screen that appears. To start the recalculation process, click the Portfolio list. Then click a portfolio and click Save. Recalculate depreciation applies the most up to date depreciation templates, schedules and cost center associations to all financial plans in the version.

Publish Investment and Planning Decisions

Required Features

Administer Financial Planning

When you select this option, an administrator can publish the proposed investment plan represented by the given investment and capacity planning scenario or version. Publishing the plan makes it the official plan of the organization. It also updates the relevant entities with the investment plan's values for Investment Approval Status, Priority, Target Start, and Target Finish.

Clear Investment and Planning Decisions

Required Features

Administer Financial Planning

When you select this option, the investment approval status and priority values are removed from the relevant financial and investment plans in the given investment and capacity planning scenario or version. Clearing investment and capacity planning decisions lets you restart the process of investment and capacity planning.