Skip to main content
If you are a Planview customer, sign in to enable additional content.
Planview Customer Success Center

Configure Versions for Financial Planning Models Screen Basics

Sign in to access this product help article.

You are viewing content for Planview® Enterprise One release – Portfolio and Resource Management.

Use the Configure Versions for Financial Planning Models screen to configure and manage the versions of financial-planning models.

To access the screen:

  1. On the appropriate row, click the action menu button and then click Configure Versions.

    The screen's Add Version button provides access to the screen on which you configure a new version. For information on the Configure Versions for Financial Planning Models screen's columns and action menu options, see the tables that follows this procedure. 

About the Screen's Columns

Element

Description

the action menu button Provides access to options that help you manage versions.

Description

Includes the name of the relevant version.
Baseline

The check mark displayed in this column identifies which version is currently designated as the Baseline version, which should be the most recently approved financial version.

Forecast The check mark displayed in this column identifies which version is currently designated as the Forecast version, which should be the most up-to-date version.

First Editable Period

Indicates the first period in which data in the relevant version can be edited. Any period before the date displayed in this column for a particular version cannot be edited in that version.

First Loadable Period Indicates the first period at which the load is to begin for the relevant version. Loading that version does not impact any period before the date displayed for that version in this column.
Last Loadable Period

Indicates the last period in which data for the relevant version can be loaded. Loading that version does not impact any period after the date displayed for that version in this column.

Inactive

If a version is marked as inactive, a check mark is displayed for that version in this column.

Users cannot edit or view an inactive version on the Financial Planning Detail screen or the screens from which they can review financial plans. You cannot load an inactive version.

About the Screen's Action Menu Options

Element

Description

Edit Version

Provides access to the screen you use to edit an existing financial-planning version's configuration.
Delete Version

Lets you delete the relevant version.

Copy Version Provides access to the screen you can use to copy data between different versions within a financial-planning model or between items within the same version.
Clear Editable Data

Permanently clears financial data from the version's editable cells without deleting the relevant lines.​​​​

Roll Up Version Provides access to the screen that lets you roll up a version to summarize costs and benefits.
Load Version

Note: Before loading a version, you should be familiar with the business rules relevant to loading models and versions.

Provides access to the screen that lets you select whether to include Actuals, Planned Effort, or both, and the period range from which you want to load data for a version relevant to work financial plans, strategic financial plans, or outcome financial plans. You can also designate whether the system is to recalculate labor rates prior to the load. When you have completed those fields, click Load Now.

This option also provides access to the screen from which you can load capacity of a cost-center based financial plan.

For information about scheduling a Financial Plan Load job by using a job stream, see Configuring Financial Plan Load Job Parameters .

Lock Levels for Version

Provides access to the screen you can use to lock specific levels for the relevant version.

Refresh Labor Cost If you click this option, the Refresh Labor Costs screen appears. You can select a portfolio and a period range to use for the refresh. The refresh re-calculates the labor cost of all editable effort in the financial-planning model, based on the labor cost rates defined.
Recalculate Depreciation

If you click this option, the current financial-planning model and version are displayed on the Recalculate Depreciation screen that appears. You can start the recalculation process by clicking the Portfolio list, clicking a portfolio, and then clicking Save.

Recalculate depreciation applies the most up to date depreciation templates, schedules, and cost-center associations to all financial plans in the version.

Publish Investment and Planning Decisions If you click this option, you can publish the proposed investment plan represented by the given investment and capacity planning scenario or version. Publishing the plan makes it the official plan of the organization. It also updates the relevant entities with the investment plan's values for Investment Approval Status, Priority, Target Start, and Target Finish.
Clear Investment and Planning Decisions If you click this option, the investment approval status and priority values are removed from the relevant financial and investment plans in the given investment and capacity planning scenario or version. Clearing investment and capacity planning decisions lets you restart the process of investment and capacity planning.