Skip to main content
If you are a Planview customer, sign in to enable additional content.
Planview Customer Success Center

Deactivating a Planview User

Summary

This best practice explains the steps needed to deactivate a Planview user, including resolving timesheets and open assignments, substituting resources, reassigning lifecycle roles, and more. 

User IDs and Resources – What’s the Difference?

A Planview User ID and its associated resource are two distinct, but connected, entities in Planview Enterprise. As a result, when a Planview Enterprise User leaves the organization, both their User ID and associated resource must be deactivated.

The User ID is the entity that is used for access to Planview Enterprise; links to roles and role-based features (including lifecycle roles), and contact information. The associated resource is used for grants, allocations, reserves, authorizations, and timesheets.

To read the full best practice beyond this abstract, you must be a PRISMS subscriber. See your Planview administrator for details.​